The Ken Dugan Award*


Ken Dugan
Lipscomb University Outfielder
Single season:
batting average record
.456 (1956)
slugging percentage record
.823 (1956)

3-time Lipscomb MVP

Lipscomb University Baseball Coach 1960-1997
1137 career wins
2 national championships
(1977, 1979)

Lipscomb University Athletic Director 1968-1997

Pan American Games Coach
World Games Coach
Author of four award-winning baseball books

Member of 5 coaching
halls of fame

"Awarded to the
Lipscomb baseball player

who most displays a love, passion and respect  for the game of baseball,

who best demonstrates
the burning desire and the work ethic
to continuously improve as a player
and become a true champion,

who displays good character
  in victory and in defeat,  and
has a deep respect for God
his family and his teammates."

"There is no substitute for a flaming desire
to be champion.
Some are not willing
to pay the price
to be a champion,
and this attitude
is the difference
between being good or great,
fair or outstanding"

-Coach Ken Dugan


Previous winners
Larry Nesbitt 2001
Jeremy George 2002
Chris Parker 2003
Derek Caraway 2004
Seth Kuwik 2005
Tadd Brewer 2006
Ben Williams 2007
Ben Williams 2008
Rex Brothers 2009
Andrew Nickerson 2010
Logan Hostettler 2011
Shawn Mehring 2012
Drew Adams 2013
Grant Massey 2014
Johnny Allison 2015
Adam Lee 2016
Denton Norman 2017
Lee Solomon 2018
Haddon Adams 2019


*The award is named in honor of hall-of-fame Lipscomb baseball coach Ken Dugan.
More about Coach Dugan